Banana and Vanilla Pancake Heaven That Your Waistline Will Love!

IMG_9701

It’s SATURDAAAAAAAY! What better way to start the weekend than a big ass stack of my healthy banana and vanilla pancakes, fresh fruit and very berry coulis! The recipe that I am going to give you will make 6 pancakes … I realise that there are only 5 pancakes in the picture. There was supposed to be six, however when I had a six pancakes stacked up; there was an uncanny resemblance to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. My nerves couldn’t handle it, so the sixth one had to go!

I will be giving you beautiful people the recipe for the pancakes AND the very berry coulis … what can I say … I guess I’m awesome … and perhaps riddled with narcissism. Okay, recipe time!


Ingredients (6 pancakes – Serves 3 … or 2 very hungry people)

  • 1 cup of wholemeal flour
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil

Method

  • Mash up the banana until it’s almost liquid (I put it in a mini food processor).
  • Place in a bowl with the rest of the ingredients apart from the coconut oil (be sure to sieve the flour).
  • Using a hand held electric whisk, or a manual one if you have arms of steel; whisk the mixture until it’s a batter like consistency.
  • Melt the coconut oil in a frying pan and on a low heat cook the pancakes (each pancake is approximately one ladle full of mixture).
  • The pancakes should take about 10-15 minutes and be sure to flip them half way through cooking 🙂

Ingredients (Coulis – Serves 2-3)

  • 1/2 cup of a mixture of berries (I always think that blackberries and raspberries make a fantastic combo).
  • 1 teaspoon of agave nectar.

Method

  • This could not be easier to make; simply place the berries and agave into a food processor and switch it on! 🙂

Have a fantastic weekend everyone, and if you decide to give these pancakes a go; I hope you enjoy them as much as my family and I did 🙂

3 thoughts on “Banana and Vanilla Pancake Heaven That Your Waistline Will Love!

Leave a comment